BBC Pride and Prejudice Adaptations

Pride and Prejudice Adaptations

Hello

When I did my Pride and Prejudice review a couple of weeks ago, I hinted that more posts on the subject of this particular classic would be on the way. Well, here’s the next one!

And I am starting with a question.

How many adaptations do you think have been made by the BBC? Just the one made in 1995?

If you answered yes, then you would be mistaken.

Dating from 1938, the BBC has been at the forefront of any Pride and Prejudice adaptation made for tv. Not counting Death Comes to Pemberley, they have in fact made six adaptations! SIX!!

This interests me a lot as the only adaptation nowadays that is referenced is their infamous and most recent in 1995.

So, let’s shed some light over the other adaptations so they don’t completely fall into oblivion!

Blog Post Border

1938.

In the first ever adaptation of Pride and Prejudice to hit the tv screens, it starred Andrew Osborn and Curigwen Lewis as Darcy and Elizabeth. It was a ‘reduced’ adaptation, running for only 55 minutes and it was recorded live at the Alexandra Palace studios in London. Due to the early days of the BBC and the primitive nature of recording programmes, no archives for this particular adaptation exist. However, after some scrounging, I did manage to come across an issue of the Radio Times from 1938 and find a couple of mentions to Pride and Prejudice. From this, it was recorded twice, once for the 22nd May and again for the 27th.

Full document from the Radio Times Archive (the page above is an excerpt from p.31 of 97)

Blog Post Border

1952:

Pride and Prejudice PosterThis particular adaptation was the first mini-series of 6 episodes to be made and it was directed by Campbell Logan. It starred Daphne Slater and Peter Cushing as Elizabeth and Darcy, and aired from 2nd February to 8th March.

As one of the earlier adaptations, the BBC didn’t keep hold of any recordings and unfortunately, all six episodes are believed to be lost.

The most intriguing aspect of this particular adaptation is that Jane Austen herself is portrayed across the series. I can’t find out why that it is the case, but she was played by the actress Thea Holme.

Blog Post Border

1958:

Related image

Using the same adapted script as the 1952 adaptation, this time Pride and Prejudice starred Jane Downs and Alan Badel as Elizabeth and Darcy. Each of the six episodes produced was half an hour long and presumably aired live. Again similarly to 1938 and 1952, all of the episodes are believed to be lost. I did, however, find one interesting fact that claimed a Telegraph critic judged the series to contain too much “obvious posing.”

From the look of Badel in the above photograph, I’d be inclined to agree!

Blog Post Border

1967:

Image result for pride and prejudice bbc 1967

Another six-episode mini-series that was directed by Joan Craft, and starred Celia Bannerman and Lewis Fiander as Elizabeth and Darcy. It was scripted by Nemone Lethbridge, whose desire to focus more on the romantic plotlines meant that the observation and social commentary were largely omitted. These cuts produced a faster-paced story as well as removing Mary, whom the producers felt wouldn’t be much missed. This was the first adaptation to be filmed in colour and that was filmed on location – Bath, Lacock village, Dryham Park. It was shown on Children’s tv and was produced to mark the 150th anniversary of Jane Austen’s death.

Blog Post Border

1980:

Image result for pride and prejudice bbc 1967
Next to the 1995 adaptation, this is probably the other one that is known to Pride and Prejudice fans. It was adapted by the novelist Fay Weldon and starred Elizabeth Garrie and David Rintoul as Elizabeth and Darcy. It first aired over five episodes, and was shown in the UK and the US. The majority of the script also uses large chunks of Austen’s own dialogue, rendering the adaptation to be one of the most faithful to date.

 

 

Blog Post Border

1995

Image result for pride and prejudice 1995I don’t know why I am going into this adaptation as it is the most famous out of them all,  but I suppose it is worth a quick mention. Of course, it starred Jennifer Ehle and Colin Firth as Elizabeth and Darcy, as well as quite a few other names popular on British TV – Alison Steadman, Emilia Fox, Joanna David, David Bamber, Julia Sawalha etc. It is this adaptation that now gets all the glory, everybody swooning over that one particular Darcy scene, and it is the one to influence newer Pride and Prejudice adaptations and retellings. Helen Fielding of Bridget Jones’ Diary Fame said that she had both the character of Mr Darcy from this production and Colin Firth in mind when she created Mark Darcy.

Another interesting little fact, Anna Chancellor who played Caroline Bingley is actually related to Jane Austen – she is a direct descendant of Austen’s elder brother, Edward.

Blog Post Border

There is something to be said about the popularity of Austen’s novel if the BBC decided it was worthy of six adaptations. Produced over all those years, they have provided the UK audience with an adaptation for every generation, therefore influencing how we and future generations continue to perceive the story.

With numerous productions under their belt, they have also shown that Pride and Prejudice is more suited to the tv screens than any other form of mass communication. The films are popular, particularly the 2005 adaptation with Keira Knightly, but we all know that we get more out of the story when it is not condensed due to time restrictions. It also makes us bookworms a lot happier because it is more faithful to the book we’ve already read and loved. Besides the 1995 adaptation, I think this is the reason why the Lizzie Bennet Diaries series works so well. Drawn over 100 short episodes, we experience the nuances and subtle details that would otherwise have been glossed over.

I know that for me, no other adaptation will take the place of the 1995 production. I think I’ll still hold to that opinion when I eventually find a good copy of P&P 1980 but until then, there is no competition.

Blog Post Border

And that is that.

Thank you for joining me on BBC’s Pride and Prejudice memory lane.

Thanks for reading and have a good day!
xx

 

 

 

26 thoughts on “BBC Pride and Prejudice Adaptations

  1. wow I didn’t know that there were that many movies I love you post I only watched the 1952, 1995 and 2005 I might have to check out the other 4 films I also loved death comes to pemberly and pride and prejudice & zombie pride and prejudice is my favourite classical book.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I didn’t realise the BBC had done that many adaptations either until I read something the other day. For any of the adaptations up to 1967 it is highly doubtful that you will find any clips or videos as there are little to no archives available. Due to the way the BBC was back then, they couldn’t keep any of the recordings and there wasn’t the technology or the funds to retain them for posterity.

      Pride and Prejudice is my favourite classic too. It never gets old for me and I love how I discover new things about it with every read.

      Like

      • Such a shame it would have been nice to see how they have improved from 1967 same here when ever I read pride and prejudice there are parts in the book I’ve never noticed before even though it’s based on Jane Bennett I disagree it’s based on Elizabeth and Mr Darcy.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’ve never heard anyone say before that it is based on Jane Bennet. The main characters have and always will be Elizabeth and Darcy. Jane is obviously a focus though because she is the oldest sister and therefore she’s the one who has to take the family situation into account when looking for a husband. The safety of the family would be her responsibility if and when Mr Bennet is no longer around. As Austen was interested in observation and societal conventions, it would have been important for her to place Jane under a spotlight, even if it just so happens that she is a secondary character.

        Like

      • I didn’t study it at school so I wouldn’t know what any of my English teachers thought about it. I wish I had studied it though because the classic I got stuck with was Wuthering Heights and I hated it.

        Like

      • I wish I could say I totally relate but I love both pride and prejudice and romeo and juliet I haven’t read wuthering heights but I have heard that book isn’t that great so I don’t think I’ll be reading it but I have to admit the way the teacher talks about the book they make boring if I hadn’t have read them before I might I have dislike them.

        Like

      • I think I need to re-read Romeo and Juliet. It’s not my favourite Shakespeare play (that goes to Much Ado About Nothing) but I might have a greater appreciation for it now since it has been years since I last read it.

        Wuthering Heights is one of those books that is either loved or hated. I personally hate it but I was friendly with someone at school who said it was her favourite book.

        Like

      • I do understand why people dislike Romeo and Juliet I was the same it took me a few reads to like it my favourite play of Shakespeares has to be A Midsummer Night’s Dream but I have read it in ages.
        I was interested in reading Wuthering Heights due to twilight but after lots of bad reviews I don’t think I want to risk it.

        Like

      • I know what you mean. Eclipse made me want to re-read Wuthering Heights but I still couldn’t get myself to like it, It’s too melodramatic for my liking.

        A Midsummer Night’s Dream, however, is another one of my favourites. It has been years since I have read it though.

        Like

      • That’s it Eclipse it might have been how Bella and Edward was discussing it that made me interested who knows maybe a reread might change your mind.

        A Midsummer Night’s Dream is my one of my favourites to I did a school play for it I think I might reread it it’s been ages since I read it.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jane Eyre is by Charlotte Bronte and I’m not a huge fan of that either. I do prefer it but it is still not one of my favourites. Anne Bronte is my go-to Bronte sister as I prefer her style of writing and storytelling.

        Like

      • Me too. I’m trying to diversify my classics reading though because I tend to re-read those I’ve already read, or stick with the same author. I’m not doing very well with it at the moment though.

        Like

      • Same I’m planning to try Agatha Christie, Catherine Cookson, Jane Austen and L.M Montgomery I love anne of green gable series it was my favourite childhood books. It’s nice to try different genre and books out of my confort zone for a change.

        Like

      • I want to try some Agatha Christie too. I have two bind ups of her short stories on my shelves but I’ve never read them. I’ll have to remedy that at some point. I also want to read some more Anne of Green Gables books. I’ve only read the first one and that was a couple of years ago.

        Like

      • I want to read murder mystery after the doctor episode about her and I am planning to buy a few of her works Anne of green gables has movies and recently made a show called Anne with an E my favourite character has to be Gilbert Bylne I love the hate friend relationship the two characters have.

        Like

Leave a Reply

