Uncategorized

Pride and Prejudice Book Tag 2.0

 

Pride and Prejudice Book Tag

Hello!

Tag Time has come around again, and this time I have collaborated with Laura at The Book Corps to create a second Pride and Prejudice book tag, but this time based on the different houses and locations. Both of us are huge fans of this book and it seemed like one of the best ways of showing our undying love for this classic story.

You can take a look at the original tag here, but now it is all about bringing the famous houses and locations of Pride and Prejudice to life!

How it works:
  • link back to mine (Emma) and Laura’s original posts so we can see all of your answers.
  • Thank the person who tagged you.
  • Answer the questions (a no brainer really)
  • Tag a maximum of 10 people.
  • You can also use the graphics if you would like to.

Anyway, let’s get on with it.

While Mr Bennet silently reads in his study, and Mrs Bennet’s tales of woe can be heard from miles away, you spend a lovely afternoon in the garden with your dramatic and doting sisters. What is a favourite novel of yours that features a strong sibling relationship?

A lot of my favourite books and series have strong sibling relationships but one of my favourites has to be between that of Meg, Jo, Beth, and Amy in Little Women. No matter the differences they have, and even after tragedy strikes, they always find the strength within each other to do better and move forward.

Image result for meg jo beth amyUntitled design

You and Mary have decided to walk to the bookshop in Meryton to search for the newest releases. Which book or books are you likely to purchase?

Ooh. Why did I have to write such a difficult question, especially since I already get my anticipated releases through pre-order, but one book I have seen and been temped to pick up is:

Out last month, it follows the main character of Juliet who starts writing letters to her recently deceased mother and leaves them at her grave. One work-hand at the cemetary, Declan, starts to read them and when he finds one that is quite haunting, he can’t resist writing back. To me this has a Letters to Juliet vibe to it and I really like that film so I’m curious to see what this book will be like. Untitled design

Netherfield Park has been let at last, and the owner, a Mr Charles Bingley, hosts a magnificent ball at his new estate. What fictional ball gown would you wear?

It’s not exactly a ball gown but I would most likely wear a dress similar to that of Ginny’s for Bill and Fleur’s wedding in HP and the Deathly Hallows.

Image result for ginny wedding dressUntitled design

It is the Christmas ball and Maria has asked you to join her at the piano. What music would you choose as an accompaniment to your current book?

I’ve actually just moved onto a new book (White is for Witching by Helen Oyeyemi) and not opened it yet but I get an eerie vibe from it so I’d probably listen to a sombre piece of classical music like Night on Bald Mountain by Mussorgsky.

I tend to listen to musical scores or classical music when I read anyway but this one out of a few others just seems ideal with my book at the moment. Untitled design

You’re helping Jane take care of her younger cousins whilst staying with the Gardiners. Which fictional children would you include in your own family?

I would probably include all the children if possible but two that I think would get on really well and act as great sisters are Anne Shirley (Anne of Green Gables) and Pollyanna (Pollyanna).

Image result for anne of green gables

Image result for pollyanna tv film

I also love these two a lot and I could imagine learning so much from them!Untitled design

It’s a sombre evening at Hunsford Parsonage, and after dinner, Mr Collins stands by the fireplace and quotes from the Good Book while the party tries not to yawn too obviously. What is a memorable quote from a novel that has always stuck with you?

I am typing this the morning after I’ve finished reading The Song Rising, and whilst Manchester (my nearest city) is reeling and dealing with a terrorist attack, and the one quote from that book that is going round my head this morning is this:

“That is what humans do. We make. We remake. We build, and we rebuild. And yes, sometimes we paint with blood, and we tear down our own civilisations, and it might never stop. But if we’re ever to unlearn our darker instincts, we have to be free to learn better ones. Take away the chance for us to change, and I promise you, we never will. I’m willing to fight for that chance.”

It might be most recent compared to a lot of other quotes I could pick, but it just seemed to be the most apt of quotes for this very moment.Untitled design

You’ve been invited to dine at Rosings Park by none other than the infamous Lady Catherine de Bourg, but the evening ends in disaster as the pompous Lady insults you and your family. Who’s your favourite fictional villain?

It is probably down to Helena Bonham Carter’s amazing portrayal of this villain in the films but I seem to be drawn to the evilness of Bellatrix.

Image result for bellatrix lestrange

She’s so inherently evil and I don’t usually go for those types of villains, but something about her draws me in. She also has a great cackle which could probably match that of the Sanderson sisters from Hocus Pocus.  Untitled design

As Lydia has gone down to Brighton with the Forsters, and Elizabeth is off on her jaunt to Derbyshire with the Gardiners, you also want to go away for a quick break. Which fictional location would be your perfect holiday destination?

Preferably in peace time after the events of A Court of Wings and Ruin, I would like to visit Prythian’s The Night Court. I picture it in my head as a really beautiful and picturesque location, and it seems like somewhere I would enjoy looking around. Untitled design

You’re running to the fine horse chestnut tree on the green to encounter some of your favourite childhood reading memories. What is one that you remember most fondly?

As well as actual books, I used to read a lot of poetry when I was little and I’m picturing those moments when my dad and I would curl up and just read aloud a lot of the Winnie the Pooh poems from one my books (When We Were Very Young, and Now We Are Six). There was one poem called Sneezles that I would always want to read aloud and it sticks with me as being a really happy memory because that point of my childhood was not exactly the greatest. Come to think of it, it was a really odd poem to love considering my early childhood was overshadowed by my sister being seriously ill. Weird.Untitled design

You’re on a tour of Pemberley and you come across Mr Fitzwilliam Darcy emerging from the pond, scandalously clad in only his wet underdrawers and shirt. You can’t help but swoon at the sight. Aside from Mr Darcy, who is your favourite romantic interest?

Ooh. The only romance in my life is between me and many fictional characters so this is a very difficult question. Apologies Tessa, but I have a huge soft spot for Jem Carstairs. He is an absolute sweetheart and probably someone I would want to date in real life.Untitled design

And that is that for this tag!

I’ve really enjoyed creating this tag with Laura, even if finding answers were more of a challenge than coming up with good questions. 😀

So, to hopefully carry this tag along into the blogosphere I’ll tag:

Emma @ The Terror of Knowing
Nicole @ Books Inked
Hannah @ Courage and Kindness
Megan @ Book Slayer Reads
Lia @ Lost in a Story
Sarah @ Written Word Worlds

And also anyone else who wants to join in!


As always, thanks for reading and have a good day!
xx

 

17 thoughts on “Pride and Prejudice Book Tag 2.0

  1. Loved your answers Emma! Oh I love Jem too, he’s a sweetheart.
    Also, I’m sorry to hear you were so close to the attack in Manchester. Hope you’re ok and that’s such an important and fitting quote you chose ❤

    Like

    1. Yeah I’m okay. I’m not as close as lot of people are but it’s the shock that sticks with you afterwards. It’s all that has been dominating the news this past week and I can’t seem to find the words to help myself and others come to terms with that. I’m also going to have that quote spinning round in my head for weeks because it is just so important. I think I definitely read The Song Rising at the right time for me.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

