Book Buying Habits Tag

Hello!

Welcome back to another tag post!

I came across this tag when watching Bee and Maddie’s videos over at Heart Full of Books, and with my particular book buying habits, it seemed like the perfect one to do. It also might help me to alter some of the badder habits I’ve accumulated since becoming a lot more invested in reading and book buying.

There are thirteen questions in total so with that out of the way, let’s get to it:

1. Where do you buy your books from?

In terms of UK high street stores, I get a lot of books from either Waterstones or The Works, and most of the time I’ll take advantage of their offers! I’ve also started getting quite a few more books from my village bookstore and charity shop. Online wise, I usually use Amazon and the Book Depository because they are sometimes cheaper. They’re also easier when I need to buy a specific language book (BSL or French) because more often than not, they won’t be available in my local high-street stores.

2. Do you ever pre-order books and if so do you do this in store or online?

I do pre-order books a lot (mainly sequels of ongoing series or new books from my favourite authors) and I tend to do this online via Amazon or the Waterstones website. I have once done it in-store but getting to my nearest town can be a real pain so it’s a lot easier online.

3. On average, how many books do you buy a month? 

I don’t actually know. From January up to now, I think I’ve bought nearly 20 or something books, not including pre-orders that have recently been released. Maybe that’s telling me I should really keep track of it.

4. Do you use your local library?

I do sometimes. My library is really small though so it doesn’t have the greatest selection of books, especially in terms of YA. I’m going to try to start going more though because we are at risk of losing it and it needs all the support it can get.

5. If so – how many books can you/do you borrow at a time?

I think the limit for my library is about 5 books at any one time, and if I do borrow books, I only tend to get a max of three books.

6. What is your opinion on library books?

Library books are fantastic and brilliant for anyone who don’t always have the luxury to constantly buy books. They’re a great resource and it would be a huge shame if numbers dwindle.

7. How do you feel about charity shop/second hand books?

They’re great. I’ll admit I tend to pick up those that are usually in a good condition but it means that I’m getting nearly brand-new books for a maximum of £2 each and you can’t go wrong with it. Plus I want to support my local bookshop and charity shop so by buying those books I’m helping the community and that feels great!

8. Do you keep your read and TBR pile together/on the same book shelf or not?

I try to organise my shelves by genres and then in alphabetical order so all my books are together. There are always a few gaps though because I keep my monthly tbr books on my bedside table so it is easy to keep track of what I’m reading next.

9. Do you plan to read all the books that you own?

Definitely.

10. What do you do with books that you own and that you feel you’ll never read/felt you didn’t enjoy?

If I come across these books when I’m sorting out my bookshelves and making space, I will unhaul them, or put them in a box until I decide what to do with them.

11. Have you ever donated books?

All the books I unhaul tend to go to my local charity shop. I’ve also donated a lot of my children’s books to my sister’s old primary school.

12. Have you ever been on a book buying ban?

Yes, but they’re never that successful. I do have a goal at the minute to not buy any books until I’ve read at least 10 of the books that have been on my shelves the longest, but I’ve not really been sticking to it. Oops.

13. Do you feel that you buy too many books?

Maybe ask me this question in April so I end up saying YES! Ha! I suppose on occasion I do go a little over the top with buying books but I am trying to be a lot more careful because I know my finances are not always great.


And that is that. Thanks for joining me for this tag.

If you feel that this tag calls to you, have a go!


Thanks for reading and have a good day!
xx

3 thoughts on “Book Buying Habits Tag

Leave a Reply

